The modern ‘size matters’

Posted: October 9, 2009 in Journalism

One of the ongoing topics of current society that both interests and baffles me, and I’m not talking about the size of the male genitalia here, it’s the insistent abuse of celebrity ‘size’ that hits front pages. This has baffled me for quite some time, but recently after reading an extremely ‘interesting’ article I thought it time to voice an opinion. It begs a more modern version of the old age question… Does size really matter?

The particular article I read was from a glossy magazine that I won’t mention in the fear that I might rouse publicity for them. The article was about Natalie Cassidy, a former Eastenders star. She apparently ‘piled on weight’ as she soared to an unearthly size 16.

News flash! Some peoples weight fluctuates!

Also in the news, the water is wet and my eyes see stuff.

Really people, who cares? Here’s the bombshell… looking at the amount of comments on their website, obviously some people do… and obviously a LOT of people believe the billshut they actually write. Can someone help me out here, why do people read, and more importantly, fall for this carp? I’m not talking about weight here, I’m on about story content. Yes folks, sorry to break the news, up to 90% of these type of stories are downright nonsense. Let’s take a sentence like this, which I will quote from a random article on-line:

‘It’s so sad – Natalie’s at her lowest ebb,’ our source reveals.

So it was confirmed by a source. It’s gotta be true… oh no wait, who is ‘our source’? Oh noes, you fooled me again! My friends, here’s the ice breaker – most of the time ‘our source’ is a little hamster running round in the writers head. This hamster invents little speeches wrapped in legal compliant jargon so that the ‘press police’ don’t sue their asses. Yes, you have it, it’s more carp. You’ll also notice I’ve stopped using the word journalist when referring to the writer, because it is honestly a stretch them using that job title. In fact, I’m pretty close to declining them of the title ‘writer’ too.

People… buying these magazines because of these articles is one thing. Actually believing all the bullcarp they write is a whole new ball game. Glossy magazines should be shelved in the Fiction section, because they really do tread that fine line between truth and fiction.

So what about that ‘10%’ that actually is true? I’m baffled, does size actually matter?

Leave a comment